# Visa requirements for Portugal

If you are an EU/EFTA citizen, you do not need a visa to enter Portugal. You can stay in Portugal for three whole months. You have 90 days in a 180 day period to spend in Portugal, for tourism, visiting family, work, etc. Family members of EU/EFTA nationals are also allowed to travel without a visa for 90 days.



### Visa requirements

You can travel without a visa to the Schengen area, which includes Portugal, for up to 90 days in any 180-day period. This applies if you travel:

- as a tourist
- to visit family or friends
- to attend business meetings, cultural or sports events
- for short-term studies or training

If you're travelling to other Schengen countries as well, make sure your whole visit is within the 90-day visa-free limit. Visits to Schengen countries in the 180 days before you travel count towards your 90 days.

# Visa not required / The countries within the Schengen Zone as of 2024 are:

Citizens of the following countries can visit Portugal without a visa for up to 90 days.

Greece Austria Norway Belgium Hungary Poland Bulgaria Iceland Portugal Croatia Romania Italy Czech Republic Latvia Slovakia Denmark Liechtenstein Slovenia Estonia Lithuania Spain Finland Luxembourg Sweden Switzerland France Malta

Germany Netherlands

# Who needs a Schengen Visa?

Citizens from the following countries are required to obtain a Schengen Visa before entering the Schengen Zone:

Afghanistan Gambia Oman Algeria Ghana Pakistan

Angola Guinea Papua New Guinea
Armenia Guinea-Bissau Palestinian Authority

Azerbaijan Guyana Philippines
Bahrain Haiti Qatar
Bangladesh India Russia
Belarus Indonesia Rwanda

Belize Iran Sao Tome and Principe

BeninIraqSaudi ArabiaBhutanJamaicaSenegalBoliviaJordanSierra LeoneBotswanaKazakhstanSomaliaBurkina FasoKenyaSouth Africa

Burma/Myanmar Kosovo South Sudan Burundi Kuwait Sri Lanka Cambodia Kyrgyzstan Sudan Suriname Cameroon Laos Cape Verde Lebanon Swaziland Central African Republic Lesotho Syria Chad Liberia **Tajikistan** China Libya Tanzania Comoros Thailand Madagascar Timor-Leste Congo Malawi

Côte D'ivoireMaldivesTogoCubaMaliTongaDemocratic Republic of CongoMauritaniaTunisiaDjiboutiMongoliaTurkey

Dominican Republic Morocco Turkmenistan Ecuador Mozambique Uganda Namibia Uzbekistan Egypt **Equatorial Guinea** Nepal Vietnam Eritrea Niger Yemen Ethiopia Nigeria Zambia Fiji North Korea Zimbabwe

Gabon Northern Mariana Islands

Some countries have agreements with the Schengen Area countries that allow their citizens to enter without a visa for a stay of up to 90 days within 180 days for purposes including tourism and business. Visa waiver agreements are formal agreements between countries that allow citizens from one country to enter another country without needing to hold a visa for a specific amount of time within certain conditions. Typically, these agreements are based on factors including diplomatic relations and economic interests. Examples of visa-exempt countries include the United States, Canada, and Australia.

# No visa required to enter Portugal

The list of third countries with whom Portugal has signed freedom of movement agreements, allowing their citizens to visit Portugal without a visa, is as follows:

Albania Honduras San Marino
Andorra Israel Serbia
Antigua and Barbuda Japan Seychelles
Argentina Kiribati Singapore

AustraliaMalaysiaSolomon IslandsBahamasMarshall IslandsSouth KoreaBarbadosMauritiusSt Kitts and Nevis

Bosnia and Herzegovina Mexico St Lucia

Brazil Micronesia St Vincent and the Grenadines

Brunei Darussalam Moldova Timor-Leste Canada Monaco Tonga

Chile Montenegro Trinidad and Tobago

Colombia New Zealand Tuvalu
Costa Rica Nicaragua Ukraine

Dominica North Macedonia United Arab Emirates
El Salvador Palau United Kingdom

Georgia Panama United States of America

Grenada Paraguay Uruguay
Guatemala Peru Venezuela

Holy See Samoa

#### Short Stay Visas (Schengen Visas)

Also known as a Schengen visa, a Short Stay visa applies for stays up to 90 days. EU/EFTA nationals do not need this visa to travel to Portugal for less than 90 days, as well as those from the 61 countries with visa-free travel agreements. This visa is given for tourism, visiting family, airport transit, as well as other temporary travel reasons and allows visa holders to travel through the Schengen area. There are different types of Portuguese Schengen visas: General Short Stay visa, Seasonal Work visa, and Airport Transit visa.

However, Portugal is one of the easiest countries to travel to as the country has diplomatic agreements with 61 countries. If your country is on the list, as is the case for the United Kingdom, the United States, and Canada, you do not need a visa for short stays. If you wish to stay for longer than three months, you will need to apply for a long-term visa before coming to Portugal.

A Schengen visa usually costs €80, while children between 6 and 12 years old pay €40. Those from Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia, Georgia, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Russia, Serbia, and Ukraine only pay €35. Children under six do not pay a fee.

## Passport validity requirements

Portugal follows Schengen area rules. Your passport must:

- have a 'date of issue' less than 10 years before the date you arrive if you renewed your passport before 1 October 2018, it may have a date of issue that is more than 10 years ago
- have an 'expiry date' at least 3 months after the day you plan to leave the Schengen area

#### **Visa Application Form**

Each applicant shall submit a complete and signed application form individually. Minors shall submit an application form signed by the person exercising permanent or temporary parental authority or legal guardianship.

Application forms - General information - Short Stay Visas (Schengen) - Visa (mne.gov.pt)

### New E-Visa portal

The new E-Visa portal now has a personal area where you can access all the visa applications you have submitted. Register. E-VISA (mne.gov.pt)